Granola for Beginners

dsc_0018Ingredients: 2 cups oats, 1 cup almonds, 1 cup hazelnuts, 1 tbsp sunflower seeds, 1 tbsp pumpkin seeds, 1 tbsp organic cocoa powder, zest of 1 medium orange, 2 tbsp coconut oil, 3 tbsp honey

Spices: 1 tbsp ground cinnamon

To me breakfast means two things: an espresso and something sweet. That’s it. I have to admit that I find it extremely hard to have eggs very early in the morning or to have anything savory at all, so my choices go usually around yogurt, slice of bread with honey / jam or crunchy müsli with milk. The only exception is when I am staying at the hotels, which thanks to my job happens quite a lot: there is something so indulging in hotels’ breakfast and I really like to take my time, sipping my green tea and simply enjoying every moment of it.

Going back to my go-to breakfast during the week, I recently discovered (not a really a discovery in the very strict sense, but still) the amazing and empowering granola! To most of you, it might seem extremely weird that I have come across it only now, but if you have ever been in Italy you know that our concept of typical breakfast equals coffee – croissant – orange juice or simply coffee. Things are a little bit different in Poland, where the tendency is to have a savory breakfast with bread (oh my, have you ever tried Polish bread freshly baked?) and cottage cheese. So it should be no surprise that I was totally unaware of the existence of granola, which ironically enough at first I thought it was just another term for müsli.

The first time I made granola, I was so disappointed because I had left it in the oven for too long and I didn’t add enough honey to the mixture, so the result was a kind of burned nuts and oats with no taste at all. Fail! The second time around, I managed to make some adjustments here and there and the result was exactly what I was looking for: a nutty, crispy and sweet flavour.

dsc_0006dsc_0010dsc_0012dsc_0003

the 5 senses method:

Makes 1 jar of approximately 700ml (I usually store it in Kilner’s round twist top jar)

  1. Preheat oven to 150° C, no fan.
  2. Place the almonds in a food processor and coarsly blend for 5 to 10 seconds. Do the same with the hazelnuts. Set aside.
  3. In a bowl combine oats, almonds and hazelnuts, sunflower and pumpkin seeds.
  4. In a small sauce pan, melt the coconut oil over medium heat. Once melted, add 2 tbsp of honey and whisk to combine. Pour it over the dry ingredients and give it a stir so that the mixture is evenly coated. Add cocoa powder, cinnamon, the orange zest and 1 tbsp of honey and give it a final stir.
  5. Spread the mixture on a baking tray lined with parchment paper. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes until golden brown and toasted.
Leave a Reply

