Coconut and Almond Yogurt Drink

dsc_0004Ingredients: 5 tbsp white Greek yogurt, ½ cup Alpro coconut-almond milk, 2 tbsp ground coconut, 1 tsp honey, 1 tsp oats, 1 tsp almond essence

Now that the festive season is over for good, I feel like stepping into a new culinary year where I am definitely going to experiment more with food and making more efforts into home made cuisine. It started last year with my first attempts in doing home made ketchup, which turned out quite well and it lasted literally 2 days, and home made Nutella, which wasn’t a real success, especially when I realized that I had bought orange flavoured dark chocolate, instead of ‘normal’ dark chocolate. FAIL!

Culinary experiments aside, this Christmas I spent a lot of time eating, he he surprise surprise, and buying different stuff for the kitchen, along with many cookbooks and seeing my little library corner filled with more and more culinary books makes me so happy and eager to try new recipes every day and they contribute to my daily food inspiration.

The first recipe of 2017 that I’d like to share with you is a super easy one and it’s the perfect one for this snowy European weather: yogurt based drink with coconut and almond aftertaste. The main ingredient is his Majesty, the  Greek yogurt! To say that I am addicted to yogurts would be an understatement! I eat them every day and there is also 100% chances that you’ll find yogurts in my fridge. My top choices are Fage Total and Tims Dairy, which make any smoothie and drink incredibly creamy, lighter and, in my opinion, much more flavoursome. Give it a try and trust me you won’t regret it! I have already shared one of my other yogurt based drinks, the blackberry and almond smoothie in this post inspired by spring colours. This time it’s all about white and the winter season.

the 5 senses method:

serves 1

  1. Place all the ingredients in a blender in the following order: yogurt, coconut-almond milk (if you can’t find it, you can use ¼ coconut milk and ¼ almond milk), ground coconut, honey, oats and almond essence.
  2. Blend until you reach the desired creaminess.
  3. Serve immediately.

dsc_0004dsc_0010

Enjoy and Happy New Year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

